Published on · Updated on · By GREATER
Updated on 27 October 2026: we added what each app costs with 100 and 200 students, including the fee on your payments; MatGoat is based in Spain and its prices don't include VAT; MAAT, according to its terms, is based in the United Kingdom.
BJJ academy management apps: 25 compared (2026)
If you're looking for an app to manage your BJJ or martial arts academy, or an alternative to the one you already use, here are 25 compared with GREATER, one by one: price, trial, whether they track belts and what GREATER offers that they don't publish. GREATER is our app and it's the one we recommend; below we explain why, with data.
Because GREATER is ours, we stick to what can be checked. Every figure comes from each app's website (checked on 26 October 2026, or on 12 October if it couldn't be read today) or from a directory such as Capterra, in which case we say so. If a feature doesn't appear, we write that the app doesn't publish it, not that it doesn't have it. Prices are shown as each company gives them: US ones in dollars and almost always before tax.
GREATER and the 25 apps at a glance
| App | Based in | Price from | Free plan or trial | Belts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREATER | Spain | Free €0 (up to 35 students) · Basic €20/mo · Pro €35/mo, VAT included | Free plan + 30-day Pro trial | Yes, adults and kids |
| MAAT | United Kingdom, according to its terms | $59/mo + VAT ($49 paying yearly) | 7 days | Yes |
| MatGoat | Spain, according to its website | €40/mo (up to 50 students) · €60/mo, VAT not included | 30 days, no card | Yes |
| compteam.io | Europe (in €, with SEPA) | €19/mo (30 members) · €49/mo (35) + €0.95 per extra member | 14 days | Yes, with kids on the €49 plan |
| BJJLink | Not stated | $49/mo + 1% per payment · $149/mo with no fee | 30 days | Yes |
| GRADR | Not stated | $99 per user, according to Capterra | Not published | Yes |
| Black Belt Membership | US, according to Capterra | $29.95, according to Capterra | Free version and trial, according to Capterra | Yes |
| Kombat Evolve | Not stated | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Mat Track | United Kingdom | Not published | Not published | Yes |
| Dojo10 | Not stated | We couldn't read it | We couldn't read it | We couldn't read it |
| Jitsunami | Not stated | We couldn't read it | We couldn't read it | We couldn't read it |
| Kicksite | US | $49 (25 students) · $99 (50) · $149 (100) · $199 | 30 days | Yes |
| Spark Membership | US and Canada, according to Capterra | $199/mo | 8 weeks | Yes |
| Zen Planner | US | $99/mo + extras (app $39, website $99) | No published trial | Yes |
| Gymdesk | Not stated | $75/mo (50 members) to $200 (250) | 30 days, no card | Not on its pricing page |
| PushPress | US | Free with 4.99% + $0.30 per payment · Pro $159/mo | Free plan | Yes |
| WodBuster | Spain | €34/mo (35 members) · €54/mo unlimited | Free up to 10 members | Not published |
| AimHarder | Spain | Quote on request | Trial, according to Capterra | Not published |
| Primera Rep | Spain | €49/mo + €5 for VeriFactu | Not published | Not published |
| Resawod / Nubapp | Spain | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Trainingym | Spain | Quote on request (from €79, according to Capterra) | 14 days after talking to an adviser | Not published |
| Bewe | Not stated | $25 per user per month, according to Capterra | Trial, according to Capterra | Not published |
| Wodify | US | $79/mo per location (regular price $179), according to Capterra | No trial, according to Capterra | Not published |
| Mindbody | US | €99/mo per location (in the US, $79) | Demo only | Not published |
| Glofox | Ireland / US | Quote on request | No published trial | Not published |
| Virtuagym | Netherlands | Quote on request | Not published | Not published |
Official websites checked on 26/10/2026 (MAAT and MatGoat, again on 27/10/2026), except WodBuster, Primera Rep, Resawod, Mat Track, Dojo10 and Jitsunami (12/10/2026, because their sites couldn't be read). "According to Capterra" = data from the Capterra directory or its sister sites GetApp and Software Advice, not from the company.
What each app costs with 100 and 200 students
The subscription is only part of it. Several apps also take a percentage of what you charge your students, and some quote prices with VAT and others without. This table brings together the ones that publish prices by number of students. On top of all of them you have to add the Stripe (or bank) fee on each card payment, which doesn't go to the app.
| App | 100 students, per month | 200 students, per month | App fee on your payments | VAT |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREATER | €20 (Basic) | €35 (Pro) | 1% on card payments only; cash and class packs, 0% | Included |
| MatGoat | €60 (€72.60 with VAT) | €60 (€72.60 with VAT) | 0% | Not included |
| MAAT | $59 ($49 paying yearly) | $59 ($49 paying yearly) | 1% | Not included |
| BJJLink | $49 or $149 | $49 or $149 | 1% on the $49 plan; 0% on the $149 plan | Not stated |
| WodBuster | €54 (unlimited) | €54 (unlimited) | Not published | Not shown |
| compteam.io | about €111 (€49 + €0.95 per member above 35) | about €206 | Not published | Not stated |
| Kicksite | $149 | $199 | Not published | Not stated |
| PushPress | $0 (Free) or $159 (Pro) | $0 (Free) or $159 (Pro) | On Free, 4.99% + $0.30 per card payment | Not stated |
MAAT and MatGoat prices checked on 27/10/2026 at maatapp.com/pricing and matgoat.com/precios; the rest on 26/10/2026 (WodBuster, on 12/10/2026). MatGoat's VAT is calculated at the Spanish rate of 21%. compteam.io: calculated with its price per extra member.
An example with numbers. An academy with 100 students charging each of them €60 a month takes in €6,000 a month. If everyone pays in cash or with class packs, it pays €20 with GREATER; with MatGoat, €72.60 with VAT. If half pay by card, with GREATER it's €20 plus 1% of €3,000: €50 in total. And if everyone pays by card, it's €20 plus €60: €80, a little more than MatGoat. That's why it's worth looking at how your students pay you before comparing the subscription alone.
GREATER: the app we recommend for a BJJ academy
We put it first because it brings together, in one app, what matters most when choosing in Spain:
- Built for martial arts: belts and stripes for adults and kids, by classes or by time. It tells you when a student meets your requirements and keeps the promotion history. None of the nine gym and CrossFit apps in this comparison publishes anything like it.
- Clear pricing, in euros and with VAT included: Free, €0 up to 35 students; Basic, €20 a month; and Pro, €35 a month.
- Start without paying on the Free plan (with limited features) and try Pro for 30 days. No lock-in and no price rises while you stay subscribed.
- Payments your way: card payments are optional and carry 1% plus the Stripe fee; cash and class packs, with no fee.
- Front-desk tablet: each student taps their photo on arrival and their attendance is recorded.
- In 7 languages (Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, German, Italian and Romanian), with an app and a web dashboard at admin.greater.es.
- We move your data for you: send your Excel file, your list or a few screenshots and the team loads your students, timetable, belts and memberships.
It also includes a profile for each student, a weekly timetable with bookings and a waiting list, family accounts (a parent manages their kids from one phone), announcements with photos and notifications, stats and an attendance ranking. Students don't pay to use the app.
What it doesn't offer today: SEPA direct debit (it charges by card through Stripe). It does have contract signing and class packs with an expiry date.
More details on the app for jiu-jitsu gyms, or start free on the Free plan and try Pro.
Apps built for martial arts: price and alternatives
These are the ones that publish belt and rank tracking, or say they are built for BJJ. With them, the difference lies in price, trial and language more than in features.
MAAT: price and alternative
MAAT price: a single plan at $59 a month, or $49 paying yearly, with a 7-day trial. Its terms of use say the price doesn't include VAT, that it can raise it with 30 days' notice and that it keeps your data for 30 days after you cancel. According to those terms, the company is based in the United Kingdom. It shares with GREATER family accounts, bookings, attendance, belts, ranking and stats.
GREATER does, MAAT doesn't publish it:
- Free plan to start without paying, up to 35 students, and Basic at €20 a month.
- Price with VAT included and in euros.
- 30-day Pro trial, versus 7.
- Cash and class-pack payments, with no fee.
- 7 languages, including Romanian (MAAT lists 6).
- Web dashboard to manage everything from the browser.
In MAAT's favour: it publishes SEPA direct debit, contract signing, messages by WhatsApp, email and SMS, class packs with an expiry date, sale of extras and templates to migrate from Mindbody or Glofox.
MatGoat: price and alternative
MatGoat price: €40 a month up to 50 students or €60 with unlimited students, VAT not included (€48.40 and €72.60 with 21%), with a 30-day trial and no card. It's based in Spain, like GREATER, and it's the most similar to GREATER: it publishes belts, family accounts, front-desk tablet, cash payments and no fee of its own.
GREATER does, MatGoat doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students.
- Cheaper: Basic €20 and Pro €35 a month, versus €40 and €60.
- VAT included in the price, stated on the website.
compteam.io: price and alternative
compteam.io price: €19 a month for 30 members; the €49 plan (35 members) adds €0.95 for each extra member. 14-day trial. It publishes SEPA and belts, with kids on the €49 plan.
GREATER does, compteam.io doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students, versus €19 for 30.
- Pro at €35 a month, without adding a price per member.
- App in Spanish and 6 more languages (compteam.io publishes its website in English).
- 30-day Pro trial, versus 14.
BJJLink: price and alternative
BJJLink price: $49 a month plus 1% per payment, or $149 a month with no fee. 30-day trial and unlimited students. It focuses on BJJ and handles belt promotions.
GREATER does, BJJLink doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students.
- Price in euros with VAT included: Pro, €35 a month.
- App in Spanish and in 7 languages.
GRADR: price and alternative
GRADR price: $99 per user, according to Capterra. It tracks BJJ belts and doesn't add a surcharge on top of Stripe.
GREATER does, GRADR doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students.
- Price per academy, not per user.
- App in Spanish and in 7 languages.
Black Belt Membership: price and alternative
Black Belt Membership price: from $29.95, with a free version and a trial, according to Capterra. It tracks belts.
GREATER does, Black Belt Membership doesn't publish it:
- Price in euros with VAT included.
- App in Spanish and in 7 languages.
In Black Belt Membership's favour: it also has a free version.
Kombat Evolve: price and alternative
Kombat Evolve price: not published. It says it's built for BJJ and, according to the data we checked on 12 October, it offers SEPA.
GREATER does, Kombat Evolve doesn't publish it:
- Public pricing: Free €0, Basic €20 and Pro €35 a month, VAT included.
- Free plan to get started and a 30-day Pro trial.
Mat Track: price and alternative
Mat Track price: not published. It's based in the United Kingdom and tracks belts.
GREATER does, Mat Track doesn't publish it:
- Public pricing in euros with VAT included.
- App in Spanish and in 7 languages.
Dojo10: price and alternative
We couldn't read its website (it wasn't loading on 26 October), so we don't give its price or features. If you're looking at it, compare it with what GREATER does publish: a Free plan up to 35 students, Basic at €20 and Pro at €35 a month with VAT included, a 30-day Pro trial and belts for adults and kids.
Jitsunami: price and alternative
We haven't found its price in a public source either. If you're considering it, you can compare it with GREATER's details above: Free plan, price in euros with VAT, cash and class packs with no fee, and belts for adults and kids.
Apps from the United States: price and alternatives
They've been on the market for years and almost all of them track belts, but they charge in dollars, before tax, and don't publish the app in Spanish.
Kicksite: price and alternative
Kicksite price: $49 (25 students), $99 (50), $149 (100) or $199 a month. 30-day trial. It's based in Kansas and tracks belts.
GREATER does, Kicksite doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students; with 50 students, €20 a month (Basic) on GREATER versus $99 on Kicksite.
- Price in euros with VAT included.
- App in Spanish and in 7 languages.
Spark Membership: price and alternative
Spark Membership price: $199 a month, with an 8-week trial and free migration. It publishes family accounts and belts.
GREATER does, Spark Membership doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students.
- Pro at €35 a month, versus $199.
- Price in euros with VAT and app in Spanish.
Zen Planner: price and alternative
Zen Planner price: from $99 a month, and the branded app ($39) and the website ($99) are paid separately. No published trial. It tracks belts.
GREATER does, Zen Planner doesn't publish it:
- Free plan and a 30-day Pro trial.
- App and web dashboard included in the price.
- Price in euros with VAT, much lower.
Gymdesk: price and alternative
Gymdesk price: from $75 a month (50 members) to $200 (250). 30-day trial with no card. Its own payments only work in the US and Canada, and its website is in English and Japanese.
GREATER does, Gymdesk doesn't publish it:
- Free plan up to 35 students; with 50, Basic at €20 a month versus $75.
- Belts and ranks, which Gymdesk doesn't include on its pricing page.
- Price in euros with VAT and 7 languages, including Spanish.
PushPress: price and alternative
PushPress price: it has a free plan, but charges 4.99% plus $0.30 on each payment; the Pro plan costs $159 a month. It tracks belts ("Rank Tracking").
GREATER does, PushPress doesn't publish it:
- Free plan with card payments at 1% plus the Stripe fee, versus 4.99% plus $0.30; cash and class packs, with no fee.
- Price in euros with VAT: Pro, €35 a month.
- App in Spanish and in 7 languages.
Gym and CrossFit apps: price and alternatives
They work well for bookings and memberships, but none of them publishes belt and rank tracking. That's the big difference with GREATER in every case.
WodBuster: price and alternative
WodBuster price: free up to 10 members; after that, €34 a month (35 members) or €54 with no limit. It's very well known in Spain and designed for CrossFit boxes.
GREATER does, WodBuster doesn't publish it:
- Belts and stripes for adults and kids.
- Free plan up to 35 students, versus 10.
- Front-desk tablet: the student taps their photo on arrival.
- Family accounts: a parent manages their kids from one phone.
AimHarder: price and alternative
AimHarder price: quote on request; it has a trial, according to Capterra. It's widely used in Spanish boxes.
GREATER does, AimHarder doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Public pricing and a Free plan up to 35 students.
- Family accounts from one phone and a front-desk tablet.
Primera Rep: price and alternative
Primera Rep price: €49 a month plus €5 for VeriFactu.
GREATER does, Primera Rep doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Free plan, Basic at €20 and Pro at €35 a month, versus €49 + €5.
In Primera Rep's favour: it includes SEPA, with no fee per payment, and VeriFactu.
Resawod (Nubapp): price and alternative
Resawod price: not published (according to its website on 12 October).
GREATER does, Resawod doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Public pricing and a Free plan up to 35 students.
Trainingym: price and alternative
Trainingym price: quote on request (Capterra mentions €79) and its 14-day trial starts after talking to an adviser. It's designed for gyms and chains.
GREATER does, Trainingym doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Public pricing and a Free plan.
- 30-day Pro trial without talking to anyone.
Bewe: price and alternative
Bewe price: $25 per user per month, with a trial, according to Capterra, where it has over a hundred reviews.
GREATER does, Bewe doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Price per academy, not per user.
- Cash and class packs with no fee.
Wodify: price and alternative
Wodify price: $79 a month per location (regular price $179) and no trial, according to Capterra. It's designed for CrossFit.
GREATER does, Wodify doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Free plan and a 30-day Pro trial.
- Price in euros with VAT and app in Spanish.
Mindbody: price and alternative
Mindbody price: €99 a month per location (in the US, $79), and it only offers a demo. Its website is in Spanish, French and Italian.
GREATER does, Mindbody doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Free plan and a 30-day Pro trial.
- No 20% fee like the one Mindbody publishes for new clients who come through its marketplace.
Glofox: price and alternative
Glofox price: quote on request and no published trial. According to third parties, it works with annual contracts.
GREATER does, Glofox doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Public pricing, a Free plan and a 30-day Pro trial.
- No lock-in.
Virtuagym: price and alternative
Virtuagym price: quote on request. It's based in the Netherlands, very well known in Europe and has a website in Spanish.
GREATER does, Virtuagym doesn't publish it:
- Belts and ranks.
- Public pricing and a Free plan up to 35 students.
Reviews of each app: where to read them
We don't summarise reviews of other apps: since this comparison is ours, it wouldn't be neutral. If you want to read user reviews of MAAT, WodBuster, AimHarder, Bewe, Mindbody, Glofox, Virtuagym or any other, the most reliable sources are directory reviews such as Capterra and the App Store and Google Play listings. Check the date of the review and whether the person writing it runs a martial arts academy or a gym.
Which apps have a free plan?
Quite a few, and it's worth reading the small print:
- GREATER: Free plan up to 35 students, with limited features and a 30-day Pro trial. By card, 1% plus the Stripe fee; cash and class packs, with no fee. Basic and Pro are paid plans.
- PushPress: free plan with 4.99% plus $0.30 per payment.
- WodBuster: free up to 10 members.
- Black Belt Membership: free version, according to Capterra.
Which one should you choose?
- If you teach BJJ or martial arts, look for one that tracks belts: gym apps don't publish it.
- If you're just starting, with GREATER you can begin without paying on the Free plan and try Pro before deciding.
- If you want to pay in euros and know the final price, check that the app publishes its price and says whether it includes VAT.
- If you need SEPA direct debit, look at MAAT, compteam.io or Primera Rep.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best app to manage a BJJ academy?
It depends on what you need, but for a BJJ academy in Spain we recommend GREATER: it tracks belts for adults and kids, charges in euros with VAT included and has three plans: Free (€0, up to 35 students, with a 30-day Pro trial), Basic at €20 a month and Pro at €35 a month. It's our app; in this article you'll find the other 25 with their details so you can compare.
What is an alternative to MAAT?
GREATER is the most direct Spanish alternative: it also handles belts, families, bookings and attendance, and on top of that it has a Free plan so you can start without paying, a 30-day Pro trial, cash and class-pack payments with no fee, 7 languages and a web dashboard. MAAT lists a plan at $59 a month plus VAT and a 7-day trial.
What is an alternative to WodBuster or AimHarder for a martial arts academy?
WodBuster and AimHarder are designed for CrossFit boxes and gyms, and they don't list belt and rank tracking. For a BJJ or martial arts academy, GREATER tracks belts for adults and kids, tells you who is ready to be promoted and has a Free plan up to 35 students.
Are there apps with a free plan to manage a BJJ academy?
Yes, several. GREATER has a Free plan up to 35 students, with a 30-day Pro trial (card payments carry 1% plus the Stripe fee), and paid Basic and Pro plans. PushPress has a free plan that charges 4.99% plus $0.30 per payment, WodBuster is free up to 10 members and Black Belt Membership has a free version, according to Capterra.
How much does a martial arts academy app cost?
It varies a lot. Among those that publish prices, it ranges from free plans with limited features to around $200 a month. GREATER has a Free plan (€0, up to 35 students), Basic at €20 a month and Pro at €35 a month, VAT included. MatGoat lists €40 and €60 a month plus VAT, MAAT $59 plus VAT and a 1% fee, Kicksite $49 to $199 and Spark Membership $199. Several, such as AimHarder, Glofox and Virtuagym, quote on request.
Can a gym or CrossFit app work for a BJJ academy?
For bookings and memberships, yes. But WodBuster, AimHarder, Primera Rep, Trainingym, Bewe, Wodify, Mindbody, Glofox and Virtuagym don't list belt and rank tracking, which is what a martial arts academy misses most.
If you coach competitors, GREATER News has the dates and registration details for upcoming IBJJF tournaments.
Sources (official websites checked on 26/10/2026 unless stated otherwise)
- GREATER
- MAAT: pricing and terms of use
- MatGoat · compteam.io · BJJLink
- Kicksite · Spark Membership · Zen Planner · PushPress · Gymdesk
- Mindbody · Glofox · Trainingym
- WodBuster and Primera Rep; Resawod, Mat Track, Dojo10 and Jitsunami: checked on 12/10/2026
- Capterra (and GetApp / Software Advice): AimHarder, Bewe, Wodify, Virtuagym, GRADR, Black Belt Membership, Kombat Evolve and the data marked "according to Capterra"